What We Do In The Shadows

Right, so this isn’t technically a book. In fact, it is definitely not a book – it’s a movie. I saw this yesterday with a few friends and thought I would share it here because it is awesome. What We Do In The Shadows is a vampire mocumentary (yep) based in New Zealand. Need I say more? I don’t think so but I will anyways. It follows a group of vampires who live together in a house and the lead up to a masquerade ball for vampires, zombies and the like. The main characters vary in age from 800 years old to two months. That is, apart from Petyr who is something like a thousand or two thousand years old and his appearance definitely shows it. A film crew follow Vladimir, Viago, Deacon and Nick as they go on nights out, feast on victims, trick humans, have fights, belly dance, attend flat meetings and do five years worth of washing up.

It’s a really funny take on vampires and mocumentaries, with some hilarious additional characters (my favourite is the werewolf pack leader – he is very very very funny). If you can see it, please do as I think it is still being shown around the world. Once you’ve watched the trailer, I’m sure you’ll want to watch it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cv568AzZ-i8

What-We-Do-in-the-Shadows

Leave a comment